

MINUTES OF THE OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 13, 2023 AT 10:00 AM JAMES A. RHODES STATE OFFICE TOWER 30 E BROAD STREET, LOBBY HEARING ROOM, COLUMBUS, OHIO

Members Present:

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Leader Nickie J. Antonio, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Representatives Jeff LaRe, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Rob McColley, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

- None
- A. Governor DeWine called the meeting to order.
- B. Presentation of member appointments to the Ohio Redistricting Commission; order that appointments be entered in record of proceedings.

Governor DeWine read the names of the appointees of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, President of the Senate, and Minority Leader of the Senate into the record.

C. Oath of Office

Governor DeWine administered the oath of office to all the members of the Commission. Secretary of State LaRose administered the oath of office to Governor DeWine.

D. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Governor DeWine declares a quorum present.

E. Filing of Certificate of Compliance with public meeting notice provisions of Section 121.22 of the Revised Code.

F. Discussion of Co-Chairs / Recess

Leader Russo stated that the minority party members have decided on their co-chair but would not offer up a nomination until after the majority party members appointed their co-chair. Both Leaders noted that they wanted their choice to reflect balance to the co-chair selected by the majority party.

Governor DeWine noted that the Co-Chairs had not been appointed yet and announced that the Commission would recess until the call of the chair.

G. Call to Order (September 20, 2023)

Pursuant to recess on September 13, 2023, Auditor Keith Faber called the Commission to order on September 20, 2023.

H. Roll Call

With six members (Antonio, Faber, LaRe, LaRose, McColley, Russo) present, a quorum was declared.

I. Presentation of Co-Chairpersons

Auditor Faber stated that pursuant to Art. 11, Sec. 1 of the Ohio Constitution, Senate Minority Leader Nickie J. Antonio and Auditor Keith Faber had been appointed as Co-Chairs to the Commission. The Co-Chairs welcomed everyone and made opening remarks.

J. Rules

After discussion by Commission members, Co-Chair Faber asked if there was a motion to adopt rules. No motion was offered.

K. Adoption of Meeting Schedule

Co-Chair Faber recognized Senator McColley for a motion to set three meeting dates: (1) Friday, September 22, 2023 at 10AM at Deer Creek State Park, 22300 State Park Road, Mt. Sterling, Ohio (2) Monday, September 25, 2023 at 10AM at Punderson Manor Lodge & Conference Center, 11755 Kinsman Road, Newbury Township, Ohio; and (3) Tuesday, September 26, 2023 at 10AM at the Senate Finance Hearing Room, Ohio Statehouse, Columbus, Ohio. The motion was seconded by Secretary LaRose.

The motion was seconded by Secretary LaRose. Leader Russo objected to the motion. Members discussed the motion. The roll was called and the motion to set three meeting dates passed 4-2 (Antonio, Russo).

L. Motion to adopt Antonio-Russo Map Proposal

Leader Russo moved that the Commission adopt the "Antonio-Russo Map" as the working map before the Commission. The motion was seconded by Leader Antonio. Following discussion by the Commission members, the motion failed 2-4 (Faber, LaRe, LaRose, McColley).

M. Motion to Adopt McColley-LaRe Map Proposal

Senator McColley made a motion to adopt the "McColley-LaRe Map" as the working map before the Commission. Following discussion by the Commission members, the motion passed 4-2 (Antonio, Russo).

N. Adjourn

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Antonio moved to adjourn the Commission, which was seconded by Secretary LaRose. With no objections, the meeting was adjourned.